Mother Road: Burger Diner

Mother Road is a small but popular burger joint right across from the prefectural office headquarters. The interior is similar to those you’d find in America–think tiny diner meets Red Robin. Their menu has fairly extensive pickings of different types of burgers, and for those adverse to meat, vegetable sandwiches (which my friend swears by) as well. They bake their buns fresh, and they smell amazing when doing so. (I never actually realized that you can’t find burger or hot dog buns in supermarkets here. You really can’t.)

I’ve been here twice, both times having a variant of a bacon cheeseburger. The burgers are quite big (lots of vertical volume) and come with a side of a few potato wedges, and for lunch a small salad. The first time I got one topped with salsa, and had my hopes dashed quite a bit. The bacon was Japanese “bacon”–essentially Canadian ham–not the crispy American kind. The salsa (I think just chopped tomato, onion, and green pepper) was also quite flavorless and just made my sandwich a watery mess.

IMG_8199

I decided to give it a second try after another friend said that their basic burgers were amazing. Maybe I just swung and wildly missed that first time. This second time I got their burger of the month–Canadian maple bacon–and added cheese to it. I have to say, this one was significantly better–of course the “bacon” was still the Japanese variant, but the maple worked very well. It also had a pat of lettuce, tomato, and mayonnaise on it. This is probably the best burger place in the area; to be completely honest, though, I probably would not like it if I were back in America. For Japan, the quality is quite high, but it’s just not in the same class if you were to line them up together. Expect to pay around ¥1000-1500 for a meal here.

Mother Road
栃木県宇都宮市塙田1丁目3-15
Open 11:30 am – 11:00 pm (12:00 am on Sat. & Sun.)
Closed Sundays
Facebook

Leave a Reply

